Cardiff Kook

There is a statue of a surfer in the tiny neighboring town of Cardiff-By-The-Sea.

The statue has been labeled “the Cardiff Kook” by locals because many a morning the Kook will be adorned with some sort of costume.  No one sees who is doing this to the statue and if they have, no one has come forward to claim responsibility.  The latest disguise?  The Cardiff Kook all decked out commemorating Oprah’s last show.

The pranksters placed books and presents around the statue representing some of Oprah’s favorite THINGS!   Nicely done, pranksters.    A few of my favs:

Bin Laden Kook

When the SDSU Aztecs went to the Championship:

The Kook being eaten by Jaws (ha):

and last but certainly not least, winter in San Diego.  Don’t be jealous, my back East pals 😉

Driving down the Coast Hwy, leaving Del Mar, into Solana Beach and heading into Encinitas, you almost miss Cardiff-By-The-Sea.  If it weren’t for the amazing eggs benedict, mimosa’s and a seat right by the sand at the Beach House restaurant, you just might miss it altogether.

I was sitting at the light one late evening at the intersection of Coast Highway and Chesterfield.  A family of tourists crossed the street in front of my car (I knew they were tourists by their horrible shoes and very white legs-don’t judge me!)….anywho……they passed in front of my car and they turned to me, and they waved at me.  Smiling from ear to ear, WAVING, at a total stranger.  Of course I smiled and waved back.  I’m  not rude. 🙂  They were heading over to check out the Kook.  I can just picture them, heading back to the corn fields of wherever corn fields are…..telling their fellow farmers about how the whacky Californians put clothes on a statue.  Different outfits…..Weekly….. And about how we think this is cool…….

To those people I just have one thing to say:

SUCK IT, CORNFIELD PEOPLE. 🙂

About Diana F

California girl who never imagines she would decide to start her life all over again at this stage of her life but I just know it's going to be epic.
This entry was posted in Ramble Ramble. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cardiff Kook

  1. Grace says:

    hahahahhahaaaaaaaa!

  2. Sarah Jones says:

    I grew up on a cornfield. ;-p

  3. Lily says:

    I live right by the Kook, I totaly know what you are talking about! (Especially knowing the tourist by their clothes) xD

Leave a Reply

