Time Flies….

Where has the time gone?  I haven’t posted a thing in a month.   Some may say this is because I have been too busy living life to write about it.  That is somewhat true, but real writers know they must write even in the midst of living the chaos of the daily grind. As one of my favorite authors has been quoted as saying-

My ideas usually come not at my desk writing but in the midst
of living. -Anais Nin

In the past month, I have gone to dinner with girlfriends, gone to a funeral, was told I had to move away from where I was happy, went to a seminar in Irvine, was in the Great Blackout of 2011 and ran out of gas, bought new dishes, rented an apartment, booked a truck to move me again, experienced work changes that threw me for a loop, had days where I didn’t want to get out of bed, had days when I daydreamed about being in my bed, met new people and spent time with them, changed my cell phone plan, talked on the phone to an old friend in Colorado whose voice I missed very much, rallied the troops to handle some crazy dude that was following me, went to my all-year high school reunion, made meatloaf and mashed potatoes at my grown son’s request and laid around watching movies with him, went to outdoor concerts, walked on the beach, sat at home with my daughter planning our futures, and finally slipped into the skin of “this being alone thing is actually not a bad thing”.

It’s still scary some days, but I think I finally have a handle on my happiness. It was right where I left it. 😉

Yesterday at the funeral for a woman I used to work with, I sat there in quiet contemplation.  This was a woman who I had always been friendly toward, and with.  I never saw her as having many friends and she seemed very lonely.  I watched her children get up and share stories about her…..this part of her that I never knew…..and in her death, she came alive for me for the first time.  I had always heard how terrible her family had been to her, and they were up there taking lots of credit for her happiness, and I never once saw them with her.   That’s definitely not going to be me.  I already have my funeral all planned out, and since you are all my friends I am sharing it with you because you guys better get it right or I will haunt you all. 🙂

First of all, I am going to be cremated and I want an urn that looks like the color of the ocean.  I want the theme from Hawaii Five-O to be played, because it’s impossible to be sad when that song is on.

Why hello there, Alex O’Loughlin who is Australian and plays hunky Officer Steve McGarrett on the TV show 😉

Now, after a simple but sincere eulogy is read, I would like Bust A Move by Young MC played.  “She’s dressed in yellow, she says “Hello, Come sit next to me you fine
fellow”You run over there without a second to lose And what comes next,
hey bust a move”.   After the service, I would like everyone to make brownie sundaes and then head to the beach and throw my favorite flower, red roses, into the deep blue.

Everyone got it?  Good. 🙂

And no crying! I know it will be difficult, because I am so awesome and you will miss me so much.  If you have to cry, please go big or go home.   I want to see huge, body shaking sobs…..uncontrollable weeping.  None of this dabbing a tear from the corner of your eye business!

Now I suppose I should head to bed.  I worked late tonight so that one of my coworkers could take the day off to celebrate his son’s first birthday.   That’s right…..remember that one at my funeral.

NIGHT. 🙂

About Diana F

California girl who never imagines she would decide to start her life all over again at this stage of her life but I just know it's going to be epic.
This entry was posted in Ramble Ramble. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time Flies….

  1. auntzonablog says:

    Well you’ ve been busier than a one legged man in a butt kickin’ contest! But I do love your ramblings and look forward to them whenever they appear.

Leave a Reply

