Home

I was born in Santee, California.  Well, we lived in Santee when I was born so technically, I supposed I was born at Grossmont Hospital in La Mesa, California.  Semantics.  The point I am trying to make is that I am a native East San Diego County girl.

Our family picked up and moved where the Navy told my Dad to go, but when I was 9, we came back to Santee.  I went to Santee schools.  I graduated high school from Santana High School in Santee.  I lived in Santee, El Cajon, Ramona and San Carlos….all in East County.  The day came where I left my husband and decided it was time to make life on my own……I told myself I had to get out of East County.  I took myself to THE SEA.

Ever since I was a young girl, I found peace beside the water.  The smell of the ocean air, the sound of the waves, and the feel of sand between my toes.   I would beg my sister to take me when she would go with her friends, and when I got old enough to drive, I took myself as often as I could.

I became a Mommy, and my first order of business in raising my babies was to bring them to the Sea.  I wanted them to love it; to not be afraid of the vastness of the horizon or the power behind each wave.  Their little souls were soothed by it, and we were family.

And then life got messed up for a while.  My soul needed soothing.  I needed to heal and to discover how to be genuinely happy.  I waved goodbye to the place I knew, and headed to a place I had never thought I’d be.  I made sacrifices, but every day I got to come home to the smell of the ocean.  Bit by bit, I grew stronger.  Little by little, I could see ME.  It was spectacular.

While I was busy doing things my way for the first time in my life, in walked Rick.  I wasn’t looking for him.  I didn’t want to give up what I had gained, but something told me it was ok.  We had our first date at Moonlight Beach, so we started in the right place. I kept being myself.  I kept being true to life.  Little by little, I let him into my world.  Our puzzle pieces fit, and today…a year later…..we love, and are in love, and I didn’t have to sell one piece of my soul.

Now, it’s time to leave the Sea.  I am not leaving it alone, as I was when she called me to her.  The ocean served a great purpose in my life.  I will always be a water girl, but when you are loved, HOME is where the other is……and I know when we need to, we will take ourselves back to the ocean, over and over and over again.

About Diana F

California girl who never imagines she would decide to start her life all over again at this stage of her life but I just know it's going to be epic.
This entry was posted in Ramble Ramble. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Home

  1. Rick says:

    Thank you my love, I thank God each and every day for bringing you into my life. You are my angel. I look forward to many more years together.

Leave a Reply

