Clouds

You know how you hear some people talk about dying…..how they say they “died” and then came back to life?  They had stopped breathing and were resuscitated, or they were in a coma and left their body.  They could see all around them. They could hear everyone talking about them.  They could look down and see their body lying there. Versions of what they experienced differ, but what remains with all of them is a sense of a greater understanding. A sense of peace. A renewed sense of wonder in things they may have overlooked in their pasts, or taken for granted.

I wonder if this has happened to me.  I wonder if at some point, I may have stopped breathing, without knowing when or how, and my spirit was brought back to life. 

I have a fascination with clouds.  I never used to.  It was as if I woke up one day and the sky beckoned me in such a way that it wrapped its blue fist around my heart.  I breathe easier……looking at the horizon.  My photographs have more depth when there are clouds dotting the sky that is my canvas. 

2679236_cfiorty016_m

I took this shot.  I don’t know these people. I didn’t care.  Their moment would have seemed less romantic without the deep, billowing sky.

“True love is night jasmine, a diamond in darkness, the heartbeat no cardiologist has ever heard. It is the most common of miracles, fashioned of fleecy clouds, a handful of stars tossed into the night sky.”
Jim Bishop

2679258_aehlwy1478_m

A sunset sky devoid of its pinkish, clouded hue would have made this photo less beautiful. 

Every morning when I walk outside, I look up at the early sky.  I breathe in the morning air. I am so grateful for another day.   I see paintings and photographs and dreams everywhere I go.   This was not my story……not so long ago.  What happened?

2677270_cfghiqtuv6_m

“A cloud does not know why it moves in just such a direction and at such a speed, it feels an impulsion… .this is the place to go now. But the sky knows the reason and the patterns behind all clouds, and you will know, too, when you lift yourself high enough to see beyond horizons.”
Richard Bach

About Diana F

California girl who never imagines she would decide to start her life all over again at this stage of her life but I just know it's going to be epic.
This entry was posted in Ramble Ramble. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

